Nyerimilang Heritage

Park

 

Step back in time

The land that is now Nyerimilang Heritage Park was first owned by Mr A Murray in 1884. He later transferred it to Frank Stuart of Melbourne who built a home as a base for fishing and shooting holidays at the Gippsland Lakes.


During the early 1920's his son Frank Jnr extended the house, developed the surrounding gardens and lived here in style, complete with housemaids and gardener.


When Frank Stuart Jnr died in 1936 his widow gave the property to the Anglican Diocese of Gippsland for use as a Boys Training Farm.


William Buckland, 'the quiet millionaire' bought Nyerimilang in the 1940's and occasionally used it as a holiday home.


After he died in 1964, the property was purchased by Jack Ramsdell who used it as a cattle stud.


Nyerimilang was purchased by the Victorian Government in 1976.


A display featuring the history of Nyerimilang and the natural resources and history of the Gippsland Lakes is located inside the homestead.


A collection of reference material for further study is available in the homestead library which is open by arrangement.


Please phone the Nyerimilang Homestead to confirm the Library is open prior to your visit. Our number is 5156 3253


Nyerimilang Heritage Park is owned by the people of Victoria and managed on their behalf by Parks Victoria.